By January 25, 2018 Read More →

February 28, 1940 British Restrict Land Transfer to Jews

British Mandate in PalestineIn February 1940, the government promulgated land transfers regulations under which the country was divided into three zones. In the largest of these zones, all transfers of land to persons other that Palestinian Arabs were prohibited, except, where certain specific conditions obtain with the permission of high commissioner. In the second zone, Palestinian Arabs were forbidden to transfer their land except to another Palestinian Arab or with the specific approval of the high commissioner. No restrictions were placed upon the transfer of land in a third and smaller zone, (E.G. THUS JEWISH LAND PURCHASES WERE RESTRICTED TO 260 SQUARE MILES OR LESS THAN 1% OF THE PALESTINE MANDATE OF 1920; INCLUDING A CONSIDERABLE PART OF THE COASTAL PLAIN AND ALL MUNICIPAL AREAS. THESE REGULATIONS GAVE EFFECT TO THE LAND CLAUSES OF THE MAY 23RD, 1939 WHITE PAPER.

Source: The Political History of Palestine under British Administration (Memorandum by His Britannic Majesty’s Government Presented in July, 1947, to the United Nations Special Committee on Palestine) Published at Jerusalem 1947

Comments are closed.