Declaration by the United Nations, Jan. 1, 1942A Joint Declaration by the United States, the United Kingdom, the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, China, Australia, Belgium, Canada, Costa Rica, Cuba, Czechoslovakia, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Greece, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, India, Luxembourg, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Poland, South Africa, Yugoslavia

The Governments signatory hereto,

Having subscribed to a common program of purposes and principles embodied in the Joint Declaration of the President of the United States of America and the Prime Minister of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland dated August 14, 1941, known as the Atlantic Charter.

Being convinced that complete victory over their enemies is essential to defend life, liberty, independence and religious freedom, and to preserve human rights and justice in their own lands as well as in other lands, and that they are now engaged in a common struggle against savage and brutal forces seeking to subjugate the world,


(1) Each Government pledges itself to employ its full resources, military or economic, against those members of the Tripartite Pact -and its adherents with which such government is at war.

(2) Each Government pledges itself to cooperate with the Governments signatory hereto and not to make a separate armistice or peace with the enemies.

The foregoing declaration may be adhered to by other nations which are, or which may be, rendering material assistance and contributions in the struggle for victory over Hitlerism.

Done at Washington

January First, 1942

[The signatories to the Declaration by United Nations are as listed above.]

The adherents to the Declaration by United Nations, together with the date of communication of adherence, are as follows-

Mexico June 5, 1942

Philippines June 10, 1942

Ethiopia July 28, 1942

Iraq Jan. 16, 1943

Brazil Feb. 8, 1943

Bolivia Apr. 27, 1943

Iran Sept. 10, 1943

Colombia Dec. 22, 1943

Liberia Feb. 26, 1944

France Dec. 26, 1944

Ecuador Feb. 7, 1945

Peru Feb. 11, 1945

Chile Feb. 12, 1945

Paraguay Feb. 12, 1945

Venezuela Feb. 16, 1945

Uruguay Feb. 23, 1945

Turkey Feb. 24, 1945

Egypt Feb. 27, 1945

Saudi Arabia Mar. 1, 1945

Lebanon Mar. 1, 1945

Syria Mar. 1, 1945